Weed Control Board

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

About the Weed Control Board

The board oversees the planning, implementing, and developing of a coordinated program that includes education, prevention, management, and research as described in the weed district's Noxious Weed Management Plan. The members represent a variety of landowner interests and a county-wide distribution. 

Authorization: The Weed Control Board is authorized by 7-22-21 Montana Code Annotated


Meetings are held at 4 p.m. on the third Thursday of each month, September through May, at the Missoula County Extension and Weed District Office. 

Extension and Weed District Office
2825 Santa Fe Court
Missoula, MT 59808
(406) 258-4200

Board Membership

  • Nine regular members
  • Two alternate members
  • Three-year terms; limit of three consecutive terms (nine years total)
  • All appointments are made by the County Commissioners



Term End Date:

John Rimel  Member 12/31/18
George Hirschenberger  Member 12/31/18
Doug Kopp  Member 12/31/18
Andy Hayes   Member 12/31/19
Dennis Vander Meer  Vice Chair 12/31/19 
Neil Carson  Member 12/31/19
Pat Sweeney   Member 12/31/20 
Dr. Dean Pearson   Member 12/31/20
Jim Olivarez   Member 12/31/20
VACANT-apply here  Alternate member  
VACANT-apply here  Alternate member  
Contact Information:   Missoula County Weed and Extension Office
 2825 Santa Fe Court
 Missoula, MT 59808
 (406) 258-4200

If you have any questions or you are unable to locate a particular board or commission, please contact us.