Library Board

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

About the Missoula Public Library Board

The Library Board of Trustees is the policy-making body of the Library. They control the expenditures of the public library fund, the construction or leasing of the Library building, and the operations and care of the Library. The Chief Librarian or Library Director is hired by the Board of Trustees and serves at the pleasure of the Library Board. 

Bylaws and Interlocal Agreement

The Missoula Public Library bylaws.

The amended Interlocal Agreement.

Authorization: The Board of Trustees is established under Montana Code Annotated 22-1-308 through 317 and by the Interlocal Agreement between the City of Missoula and the County of Missoula, amended July 22, 1985.


Meetings are held the fourth Wednesday of each month at 6 p.m.

Missoula Public Library
Library Director's Office
301 East Main Street 
Missoula, Montana 59802
(406) 721-2665

Agendas and minutes are available online.

Board Membership 

Five members plus one alternate; limit of two consecutive five-year terms. 

  • One city resident appointed by the Mayor
  • One city resident appointed by the county commissioners
  • Three county residents appointed by the county commissioners
  • One alternate appointed by the county commissioners



Term End Date:

Rita Henkel County appointed [City resident] member  6/30/19
Becky Mosbacher Mayor appointed member  6/30/19
Audra Loyal County appointed member  6/30/22
Barbara Berens County appointed [alternate] member  6/30/22
Margaret Wafstet  County appointed member  6/30/23
Matt English County appointed member  6/30/23
Contact Information:   Missoula Public Library  or  (406) 721-2665

If you have any questions or you are unable to locate a particular board or commission, please contact us.